Fall bucket list

fall_bucket_list_featured

 

Here we go again. A new season (a bloggers’ favorite) has rolled in today, and I’m not entirely sure whether I should feel more excited or flabbergasted. I’m definitely feeling happy about the fact that the crazy summer temps are finally over (yay for cooler mornings, crisp evenings and the fact that it’s finally acceptable to have a candle burning at home day-in-day-out), but the speed with which the pages of my calendar keep turning gives me chills.

 

However, today I’m not going to dwell on the fact that the life is speeding by in such a crazy manner, but instead focus on all the amazing and exciting things waiting for me in the upcoming months. Putting together my seasonal bucket list is one of my favorite blogging exercises, and when it comes to this fall, these are the things I’m most looking forward to:

 

Create a fall reading list and read, read, read. No explanation needed, since this thing is pretty much on every single bucket list I create 🙂 Books are my favorite things in the entire world – but you already know that 🙂

Light a candle whenever I’m at home, and use essential oils for my aroma lamp. Lavender, eucalyptus, orange or jasmine…my collection is ever growing, and I’m even thinking of trying to make my own mixtures.

Start walking back home from work again. Now that the temps are finally back to my “normal”, I’m excited to start taking my daily walks from work again – it will be the perfect way to unwind after a stressful day in the office, and it’ll give me plenty time to catch up on my favorite podcasts. A win win!

Update my home decor for fall. I’m thinking of a new blanket for my sofa, a few new throw pillows, bowls filled with little decorative pumpkins and a fall wreath for my front door.

Clean out and reorganize my closet for fall. I’m going to store away all the dresses, summer skirts, flimsy tops and stilettos, and replace them with warm knits, my favorite hoodies and my collection of ankle boots. This could also be a great time to try my hand at capsule wardrobe!

Take a hike to see the changing leaves. This would make for a lovely weekend date.

Sew a few new fall tablecloths. My linen closet is overflowing with spring and Christmas tablecloths, but for some strange reason, fall-themed ones have been conspicuously missing. Time to change that this year!

Try at least 10 new soup recipes. A. (my boyfriend) and I are both huge fans of homemade creamy soups, but my usual repertoire begins to feel a little stale. I need some fresh new ideas – please, do share your favorite recipes in the comments.

Cook and bake with all the different kinds of pumpkins available. I’m pretty good with Hokkaido (my all time favorite kind), but I’ve yet to discover spaghetti or butternut squash. Any other varieties I shouldn’t miss?

Swap my summer lip gloss for a new lipstick. Am I finally ready to bite the bullet on the red one?

Wear my favorite dark nail polish. Sketchy nail colors are definitely not my jam (you will never ever catch me with green or blue nails) – I’m a dark red gal through and through. I’m looking forward to wearing Essie Size matters day in day out!

Bake cookies shaped like autumn leaves. This may sound like a cliché, but I’ve never actually baked sugar cookies, and I’m finally willing to give them a try. So why not have a little fun with decorating them afterwards?

Roast pumpkin seeds at home. I adore them, A. adores them, and between the two of us, we should be able to find the perfect recipe.

Attend wine tastings at my favorite wine shop. I haven’t done this in forever, and I’m missing discovering new varieties, chatting with random neighbors at the table and then buying way too many bottles to carry home 🙂

Make homemade apple cider. Finally!

Experiment with fried recipes. We got a fryer this week, and it got my mind spinning with various possibilities: homemade fries, chicken nuggets, spring rolls, oh my. It may not be the healthiest way to cook (quite the contrary – *nods sheepishly*), but in my opinion, nothing beats a plate of homemade french fries with tartar sauce.

Now it’s your turn: tell me what’s on your fall bucket list!

Happy Thursday everyone!

Leave a Reply

